over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Philosophy that has helped along the Journey

UsmcOldSchoolMuscle

Registered
I wanted to create a thread focused on philosophy, quotes, therapy or anything of note that we’ve found helpful in dealing with stress and that has increased the quality of our lives. Please feel free to leave simple statements, share quotes, post videos along that helps convey your message.

Obviously I am a veteran. As an Infantry Marine I served in Iraq and earned my Combat Action Ribbon the good old fashioned way. Some of the ways that I had adapted in order to excel in combat did not translate well to the life after war, go figure right.
Through all the various forms of therapy, which all helped to varying degrees, what I found most helpful and most impactful was a shift of mind. This change was brought on primarily through philosophy. I am most fond of Taoism and Stoicism and I find many similarities between the two.

I will start the thread off my leaving a quick video which introduces Stoicism as well as an a introduction to one of the most prominent Stoic Philosophers, and whom is seek wisdom from more so than any other Stoic, Epictetus. Epictetus lived as a slave in the Roman Empire. Like Andy Dufresne, Epictetus understood the power of the mind. He understood that we as individuals can possess inner peace even if we are faced with bleak or even terrible circumstances. By first understanding that there are circumstances in which we are directly in control of but in most cases things are out of our control. By learning to accept the latter and embracing the role that we find ourselves in. Seeking purpose in everything that we give our energy towards.

My hope is that this thread becomes a comfort and an outlet that one can turn to in the darker times. Rather than giving advice we can share the wisdom of philosophers and prominent figures in history that we believe will help.